lemon-olive oil kale salad (vegan)

IMG_3831

Recently, I decided to try and go vegetarian for lunch and maybe even vegan for breakfast. It’s a great way to slim down, and have more appreciation for animals. I had a bad experience on a vacation (read: I killed a chicken accidentally) and suddenly everything was put into perspective.

IMG_3833

I’ve been eating this kale salad for a while. I don’t make it too often, but enough that it’s one of my favorites. The kale is tossed in olive oil and fresh lemon juice, and topped with cranberries, pinenuts, and Parmesan cheese (which can be made vegan if needed, I forgot that I wasn’t supposed to eat cheese.).

Kale has many health benefits for body and skin as well, and I LOVE IT.

IMG_3832

I recommend buying straight-up kale and not baby kale, because I feel like it doesn’t absorb the flavor of the lemon as much. You can also replace the cheese with some other vegetable or nut, and if you want to you can add a protein like tofu or meat (if you fancy it). It’s a very versatile salad and you can customize it however you like!

 

lemon-olive oil kale salad

vegan – GF


1 stalk of kale

1/4 cup dried cranberries

a small handful of pinenuts (toasting is optional)

half a lemon

drizzle of olive oil

Wash the kale and pat it dry. Once you dry it, drizzle the olive oil over it and sort of work it into the kale with your hands. Next, squeeze the lemon juice onto it and then toss it. Add the cranberries and toast your pinenuts if desired, then top with grated parmesan or your desired topping.

Enjoy! More lemon juice or olive oil can be added if needed.

Leave a Reply

