no regrets – i will never stop

Morning, lovely people. Today’s post is pretty personal and kind of ranty, but I felt like I needed to share it with all 147 {!} of you. If you don’t know already, I love to write songs and sing.

Once upon a time, last February, I decided to write a song on a trampoline. Yes, a trampoline. I had been debating whether or not to start songwriting, and in the end I thought that I’d give it a go.

So there I was on that trampoline, singing on about leafless trees and asking someone to follow me. Thus, the song Follow Me was born.

I kept writing songs, random thoughts about life and love, loss, all the stuff people sing about. In late May, something happened in my life that spurred me to write a song called No Regrets.

“I have no regrets of saying goodbye, of letting you go, oh,

I have no regrets of waving my hand, of closing the door.”

Little did I know that No Regrets would make its way into other people’s lives. My friends, my family, and others. I kept writing. Soon I had 18 songs to my name, each one telling a different story.

In November I started hitting road blocks. Sometimes the people who you think will support you decide not to. I got really discouraged and almost quit songwriting. It was a friend I had met online that told me to keep doing it.

So I did. I saved up money, bought a guitar, and blocked out anyone who would try to stop me.

January 27, 2016.

That was the day I realized that No Regrets had to happen. I was compelled to share it with the world.

“I want to be a singer.” I said.

“So you want to be Taylor Swift?”

“No, I just want to make my voice be heard and share my stories.”

“It’s just a phase, stop focusing on that. It’s just an outlet, blah blah blah.” They said, trying to stop me.

Apparently, according to some people, I shouldn’t be able to have feelings about my songwriting. Things I’ve written in my songwriting book happened to be read by someone, and they didn’t approve.

I didn’t care! I wasn’t going to stop because of one or two people! I kept writing, narrowing my track list down to about seven songs. Those songs are going to inspire people.

The bottom line is that I was told I wasn’t allowed to dream. Look at me now.

Those songs? They’re real events that happened to me.

My name is MADLI {Nordic origin- she who rises above} and I am going to sing. I will not stop for one person. If you try to tear me down, I will rise up again, bigger and better.

No Regrets

Follow Me

Constellations

Tell Me Now

Broken Record

Static

Without You

Those songs are my stories, my feelings. I will not let anyone take that away from me.

With a little luck and a lot of talking, I’m hoping they’ll be on SoundCloud soon.

IMG_3499.JPG

Thank you for listening to my story.

♥, Mali

2 thoughts on “no regrets – i will never stop

  1. YESSSS CREAMMYYYYY (its Abbie I’m not some random persons callg you creamy. ALSO I FORGOT AM I CREAMY OR PUFFY?!? I think I’m puffy but idk.) you’re gonna be big, I know it. Just remember me when you’re a billion dollar super star, please. Also, what kind of guitar do you have? I recently got a Ukelele and a epiphone, so you gotta teach me some stuff, k?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OH MY GOSH. CREAMY.
      You have no idea how much that means to me, babe! I will promise to remember you. I must teach you! I’m not an expert with Uke, although with guitar I’m mostly stable. I’d suggest printing out a chord chart and getting to know the most basic chords: A, Aminor, C, E, Eminor, D and G. Then work on harder chords like F and B.

      Like

Leave a Reply

